The Parts of Speech


In English there are generally considered to be eight parts of speech: noun, pronoun, adjective, verb, adverb, preposition, conjunction, and interjection. Let’s learn about all of them!

Every name is called a NOUN,
As field and fountainstreet and town.

In place of noun the PRONOUN stands,
As he and she can clap their hands.

The ADJECTIVE describe a thing,
As magic wand and bridal ring.

The VERB means action, something done –
To read, to write, to jump, to run.

How things are done, the ADVERBS tell,
As quickly, slowly, badly, well.

The PREPOSITION shows relation,
As in the street, or at the station.

CONJUNCTIONS join, in many ways,
Sentences, words, or phrase and phrase.

The INTERJECTION cries out, “Hark!
I need an exclamation mark!”

Through poetry, we learn how each of these make up THE PARTS OF SPEECH.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *